Eden Hazard wins FWA Footballer of the Year award

Chelsea’s Belgian midfielder Eden Hazard has wrapped up his second individual accolade, winning the FWA Footballer of the Year award after winning the PFA Player of the Year award last month.

More than 300 journalists polled their votes with Hazard amassing 53% of the vote ahead of Tottenham striker Harry Kane and Chelsea teammate John Terry, who finished third.

The winger scored 14 goals and assisted eight goals as he spearheaded Jose Mourinho’s Chelsea side to its first league title since the 2009-10 triumph.

The Belgian international becomes only the third Chelsea player to win the award after Gianfranco Zola in 1997 and Frank Lampard in 2005.

The 24-year-old was praised by FWA chairman, Andy Dunn of the Sunday Mirror:

“The list of truly world class players on the Football Writers’ Association roll of honor is a long one and Eden Hazard is a worthy addition. A creator, a goalscorer and the hardest of workers, Hazard has been a constant source of threat for the Premier League champions.”

“But it is not just his trickery, his pace, his artistry and his marksmanship that make Hazard such an invaluable component of Jose Mourinho’s Chelsea squad, it is his durability. Hazard has started all 36 Premier League matches and, considering the particularly close attention he receives from opponents, that is a feat in itself.”

Alongside Hazard and Terry, three other Chelsea players featured in the PFA Top 10 in Serbian defender Branislav Ivanovic, fellow Belgian Thibaut Courtois and new signing Cesc Fabregas.

Other players in the running were Manchester City’s Sergio Aguero, Arsenal’s Alexis Sanchez, Manchester United’s David De Gea and Leicester City’s Esteban Cambiasso.